Facebook Live is my New Voice!

Facebook Live Front B2

In a couple of hours I will be going live for the first in the series on Telling Your Story on my Facebook Page. I’d love to speak with you there!

If you had asked me a year ago how I felt about being on camera, I would have baulked. Actually, a few months ago I would have said the same thing. I HATE myself on camera and I hate the sound of my own voice. I still do, let me tell you!

But with so many talks and interviews lately and before I knew it I’d said yes to doing a Facebook Live for The Mighty. I’ve no idea what’s come over me but I’m loving it. I still hate looking at myself on camera or hearing my own voice, but even with my brain fog and nerves and all the rest of it, I am finding that the live interaction on Facebook Live is right up my alley. I even tried to do one that wasn’t live (as in a podcast / Youtube video) and I just froze through the whole thing.

I think that talking to a live, interactive audience changes everything for me as I quickly forget the camera and simply talk to people. I share my story and my heart and simply answer questions and the next thing I know I’ve run over time. So thank you all for your support in these. Please feel free to watch past streams and sign on for new ones HERE.

I write memoir, and I speak and write on chronic illness, abuse, EDS and more, but finding my voice has been the overarching theme through everything as I have spent my life so far struggling with being squashed and bullied and silenced. Finding my voice has been one of the most liberating things in my life but it has also been the hardest. It wasn’t overnight, it wasn’t even over months. It was a long and painful journey that I am still walking. This adds such a richness to that story.

Nothing will replace the full books where I can speak about things that are too hard to say out loud, or are too long for a single sitting, but speaking live with people brings my story to life in a whole new way!

Just scroll down on the right here to Categories and click on “Facebook Live” to see other posts on this amazing platform.

To book a talk with me and discuss my schedule you can contact me on JPeaSmith@KingsRoadChronicles.com

Where you can find and follow Jennifer: 

@JPeaSmith

Telling Your Story!

Facebook Live Front B2

Following on from THIS post a day or so ago, I am going to be hanging out on Facebook Live a lot over the next few months and “Telling Your Story” is going to be a regular feature. I believe that we all have a story to tell, whether it is a few words to the closest of friends only, a private Facebook profile, a small blog, or even a book, we are all unique and we are wired to share our journeys. Many of the questions that I get asked about life are about where, how, and to whom we should share, and the answers are both simple and complicated. So hopefully these open Q&A sessions will answer some of them for you.

Once every two weeks, I will be doing a Facebook Live under the heading of “TELLING YOUR STORY!. Topics for discussion and Q&A will include: “How much is too much to share?”, “Can I write about people who have hurt me?” and “Who should or shouldn’t see my Facebook?”. It will also include issues like “How to tell our deepest secrets safely” and “Should we even share at all?”.

Here is the schedule for the next few months ( I will update it regularly with new links and updated information as we go!) :

  • Thursday, May 11th – “Telling My Story”| New York: 5am | London: 10am | Johannesburg: 11am |Sydney 7pm |

 

  • Monday, May 22nd – | New York: 3pm | London: 8pm | Johannesburg: 9pm |Sydney 4am |

 

  • Thursday, June 8th – | New York: 5am | London: 10am | Johannesburg: 11am |Sydney 7pm |

 

  • Monday, June 19th – | New York: 3pm | London: 8pm | Johannesburg: 9pm |Sydney 4am |

 

  • Thursday, July 6th – | New York: 5am | London: 10am | Johannesburg: 11am |Sydney 7pm |

 

  • Monday, July 17th – | New York: 3pm | London: 8pm | Johannesburg: 9pm |Sydney 4am |

 

  • Thursday, August 3rd – | New York: 5am | London: 10am | Johannesburg: 11am |Sydney 7pm |

 

  • Monday, August 14th – | New York: 3pm | London: 8pm | Johannesburg: 9pm |Sydney 4am |

 

  • Thursday, August 31st – | New York: 5am | London: 10am | Johannesburg: 11am |Sydney 7pm |

So pop those in your diaries or go HERE to watch this short introductory Facebook Live. At the very end, it will give you the opportunity to turn on notifications for my future Facebook Lives. You can also simply “Like” and Follow my Facebook Page and the following places to get updates and changes. Please remember to share any of my Posts across my social media platforms.

@JPeaSmith
 
“Here she comes, running, out of prison and off the pedestal: chains off, crown off, halo off, just a live woman.”  ― Charlotte Perkins Gilman