Zuma Must Fall!

img_3883

So THIS was the blog post that I wrote on my writery blog just now. It would be silly to just rewrite it here. But from a health perspective, it was an interesting day and I am super proud of us both for preparing well, packing supplies, keeping safe, but above all, for being sensible and going to a much smaller rally than the huge one that we wanted to be a part of.

It was a fascinating day and what a privilege to be able to be a part of it. We took the chair because much of it would be about standing around which of course is not an option.

There were only about 200 of us at our intersection but there were others at the next lights, the lights after that, and all over the country. It could have gone badly for all kinds of reasons for all kinds of people but it didn’t. I thought that I would maybe regret going to something small, but I didn’t for a moment. The cheering, the honking of car horns, the excitement, the singing and dancing, we amazing. The praying, the crying, the languages, the cultures. It was beautiful. And I got to be in the middle of it all!

With my wheelchair parked on the kerb and standing (sitting) alongside people that I love, from church, work, family, loved ones, was AMAZING! I’m super proud of myself!

img_3885-1

Where Jennifer hangs out: 

@JPeaSmith
 
“Here she comes, running, out of prison and off the pedestal: chains off, crown off, halo off, just a live woman.”  ― Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Leave a Reply

